Should I return to work?

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums General Topics Should I return to work?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  merrychristmas 6 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

4_under_7

What do you Catholic moms think I should do?

I am 36 yrs old with four children aged 18 mths, 4, 6 and 8. I have been home full-time for almost 4 and a half years. I have a master’s degree in special education and have the opportunity to return to work. I have an opportunity to take a teaching job until the end of June (only 170 working days!). After that I will stay home again full-time.

The debate in my head is that I had these four children and I should be home with them (two are in public school – we don’t have Catholic schools here and two are still home with me). I would also like to have a fifth child and this job would allow for me to collect maternity beneift once I am finished. I’m not pregnant yet.

I think I want to work for my brain stimulation. We also have bills that are waiting to be paid and have not put any money in the kids education funds for two years now. Going back to work would easily clear the bills, pay into the educ. funds and then some (for the stuff we wished we could do/have over the last while but could not afford it).

So what do I do? Stay home with the kids or go back to work until the end of June and then be home again full time?

I am stuck between these thoughts – they are my kids and I should raise them – and – it is only 9 months work and the bill stress will be taken care of – and – is the working only for material goods which is not in agreement with the teachings of the church.

AHHHH… I need to decide what to do!

Any insights / shared experiences would be great.

Thanks Moms.

4_under_7

Hi 4_under_7,