How often…

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  catholicforlife 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

mommandm

Do you go to confession, if I may ask?

I’m new at this, so I need a little guidance. Thanks!

rosannajames

I try to go occasionally, like once every other month or so. I found this site which may be helpful to you:

http://www.livingcatholicism.com/archives/2004/10/how_often_shoul.html

Confession not only obtains forgiveness for us, it also strengthens our will and forms our conscience. In other words, God not only pardons us during Confession, He also empowers us to resist sin in the future. This is important to understand: the more we go to Confession, the more Grace we have to resist future sins. This is a reason to go to Confession more often than necessarily required…

The Church doesn’t require too much:

CCC 1457 According to the Church’s command, “after having attained the age of discretion, each of the faithful is bound by an obligation faithfully to confess serious sins at least once a year.” Anyone who is aware of having committed a mortal sin must not receive Holy Communion, even if he experiences deep contrition, without having first received sacramental absolution, unless he has a grave reason for receiving Communion and there is no possibility of going to confession. Children must go to the sacrament of Penance before receiving Holy Communion for the first time.

God bless!

julka

Whenever I feel filthy. lol. But usually every 2-3 months.

andrea