How much should I expect from my kid at Mass?

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums Raising Great Kids! How much should I expect from my kid at Mass?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jounderw 3 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

michianamom

Hi all -

I’m a newbie to the forum, but very excited to be here. I have recently converted to Catholicism (confirmed Easter ’09) and I have a 6 yr old son. He witnessed my conversion and grew right into the faith. He is very well catechized for his age. He absolutely loves God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit and has an active relationship with each. When he’s playing, he bursts into made-up songs about Jesus saving us and about how we always have the Holy Spirit as our helper. He makes up plays about Bible stories and actively talks with the saints. He says things like “Mom, you are the very best mom. Well, here on Earth. I mean I wouldn’t want to forget about Mary ‘cuz she’s the best mom for all of us.” He likes to watch the kids shows on EWTN. When we’re driving, he asks me to make up a “cata-quiz” (ask him catechism questions) to entertain him. Anyway, the point is that he really genuinely loves God, has an active relationship with our Lord, and is excited about learning about our faith. In that regard, I am so very blessed.