Hope I can find someone to relate

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums General Topics Hope I can find someone to relate

This topic contains 10 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  sillara 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

randymandy

Hi ladies! I hope that everyone’s weekends are treating you well. I thought I would take a moment to post on this forum and (hopefully) get some encouragement.

I am a homeschooling mother of one son, age 7. We just started down the homeschooling road this past winter…. we are currently on summer break.

I have always been able to stay at home with our son, but I also had many other activities going on in my life. Before we pulled out son from the public school system, I was a full-time student at the nearby university (going on three years) and I also had occasion to work a part-time job here and there. I really enjoyed getting out of the house and interacting with a variety of people… I am a true extrovert and I seem to thrive when I have lots of people to interact with.

So, when we began homeschooling my son, I stopped taking classes. I felt so convicted that we were making the best decision for my son. I also promised myself that I would enroll in evening classes. Long story short…. I have yet to enroll in a class. :(

I cannot stand staying at home with my son 24/7… with occasional outings. I cart my son to and from activities and it seems that the only people I ever see are my husband, son and other busy mothers. I feel very isolated and resentful…. I feel very conflicted as well. While I believe that homeschooling is a wonderful thing, I also feel that I am giving up my life. I find that I frequently resent motherhood and I even fantasize of “leaving it all behind”. I think I am bored out of my mind.