Having to give "plan B" at work

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums General Topics Having to give "plan B" at work

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  catholicforlife 5 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

jmchenery

Hi everyone. I haven’t posted here in forever but I am very glad to be back! I am having some issues with work. I am a nurse in an emergency room at a Catholic Hospital. Previously state law allowed us to refuse sterilization procedures, birth control, “plan b” etc. However state law has changed and our hospital’s are required to give “plan b” now for rape victims.

We just had an inservice on this last week. It came up one other time where a doctor asked me to give it to a patient and I told him I couldn’t do that. He then decided to write a presciption for it to take elsewhere and I was fine with that. But now according to the law I may be required to give the actual pill to a patient.

I asked my supervisor if by law individual nurses were responsible for giving the drugs or if its just the hospital that is required. She informed me that since I am in charge of the patient, I must give the medication.

I absoultely refuse to give someone plan b. By default I am causing a possible abortion. However, I would be OK with the alternative of handing someone a presciption for it as opposed to the actual pill only because its the lesser of the two evils and I am not the one directly giving the medication. The doctor wrote the presciption, the pharmacist fills it, I just hand it to her.