Anyone homeschool?

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums Raising Great Kids! Anyone homeschool?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  luvbeinamommy 8 years ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Hi! It has been a joy to read the posts on here. You ladies are all very nice and I love your devotion to your families and to the Catholic faith. I am wondering if anyone homeschools? I am a former teacher and have always dreamed of homeschooling my kids. We have a few private Catholic schools here but they are SOOOOO expensive, we just can’t afford it right now and I am not a fan of public school (many reasons). I was just wondering where you order your curriculum from? I have done TONS of research on curriculum, scope and sequence, socialization/activities of homeschooled children, planning your classroom environment, etc. I also have a younger child that I will be incorporating into our “school.” !
    If you have any suggestions on good Catholic curriculum, please let me know. If you homeschool, fill me in on some of your great ideas!
    Thanks!
    Heather

Hi! I have homeschooled my kids from the beginning. My oldest is just finishing 2nd grade, and my next oldest is finishing kindergarten. Next year I will add my 3rd child to the “official” classroom, but school tends to be done by everybody, no matter the age. This means I’ll have to “school” my other 2 little ones too!

I use Mother of Divine Grace cirriculum (http://www.motherofdivinegrace.org). It is a classical cirriculum. I know many people who prefer a traditional style and use Seton. This is a matter of personal style. I don’t enroll my children, I just buy the material and keep my kids on track…but I’m very disciplined in that way.

If you have nay more questions, feel free to email me or check out my blog where I talk about homeschooling all the time.

Good luck!
    Michelle

johnson8

Hi Heather,