2 year old discipline

Welcome Catholic Moms! Forums Raising Great Kids! 2 year old discipline

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  roxy 6 years ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

roxy

Hello, this is my first post and I was hoping to here some advice on discipline. I am a former first grade teacher and am able to keep 30 6 year olds in line, but my own 2 year old boy will not listen to me. I have tried “time-outs” and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. When i tell my son “no” because he is either biting, screaming at the dinner table, or wants something he can’t have, he doesn’t listen and even laughs or misbehaves even more! My husband and I are at our wits end, and my pediatrician is not much help. I also have a 1 year old daughter who does not need to be disciplined yet, but watches what goes on with her brother. Any suggestions?

ashersmomma

Oh Roxy, I was going through what you are going through just recently. My son will be 3 in June and he is what you might call “all boy”. Stubborn, aggressive, rambuncious, strong willed…but yet still SO sweet and loving and FULL of personality! Upon turning 2, I quickly felt the need to brake his will, not his spirit. God gave him these wonderful personality traits and I’m sure all of them will benefit him as he gets older. I just wanted to steer that aggression and stubborness into a positive direction.

My husband and I had different ideas as to how to discipline of course. He is a bit more old fashioned and came from a family of 4 boys where spankings were a part of everyday life. I came from a family of 2 girls AND was a psychology major in college and planned on being an adolescent therapist (therefore studied alot of child psychology) until I got married and started my dream job…SAHM :lol: .